Round 2 Results of Eclipse Logo Feedback

I have been slow in publishing the second round voting of the logo feedback survey.   Unfortunately, EclipseCon was pretty much all consuming for the past two weeks.

We had another good turnout for the second round of voting, 1196 people participated.  I really appreciate the time and feedback people provided.  Unfortunately the results are very mixed: 73% (875 votes) of the people think changing the logo is a good idea but no clear preference for one concept emerged.   The top two concepts were within 10 votes of each other.  If you consider 321 people indicated they would prefer to stay with the existing logo, it makes the top two concepts plus keep the existing logo almost a dead heat.

In hindsight, this was probably a very predictable outcome.   Graphic design is a very subjective topic so lots of different opinions should be expected.  The process of crowd sourcing the design concepts worked really well. Lots of great concepts were submitted and I really appreciate the participation.   We will award the $500 (plus $150[1]) to Agon who posted the top concept on CrowdSpring .  I will also try to make sure the top concept designers receive some Eclipse SWAG for their efforts.

How to proceed with an updated logo is less certain.  As I mentioned when we started this effort, changing the logo is a LOT of effort for the project teams, the Foundation and the entire ecosystem that uses the existing Eclipse logo.  Selecting one of the concepts without significant community support just doesn’t seem like the right thing to do.  Therefore, I am going to recommend we not change the logo.  I realize this might not be popular with some people but I think taking a more conservative approach is the best option at the moment.   In the grand scheme of things, at this time I don’t believe the cost to the Foundation and the project teams is worth the benefit.

[1] We need to pay an extra $150 so we could delay our decision past the normal 7 days provided by CrowdSpring.

11 Responses to Round 2 Results of Eclipse Logo Feedback

  1. Andrew E says:

    Tough choice, but I think a good one. You are never going to please everyone. The current Eclipse logo is so recognizable that even if you don’t particularly like, you have to admit that it does its job well (ie- branding).

    Thanks for your work on this.

  2. Lars Vogel says:

    I really like the idea that we get a modern logo for Eclipse.

  3. Maybe the right time to try is when we hit Eclipse 4.0?

    I think Ian has learned some valuable experience about crowdsourcing graphics and having a vote🙂

  4. […] Round 2 Results of Eclipse Logo Feedback « Ian Skerrett […]

  5. Good decision. In fact, if I were to recommend something, it would be to get a really good designer that has some previous work that you can visibly see really knows what they are doing, and consolidate all the various official and unofficial logo designs that the Eclipse foundation uses here and there. I would argue that the official logos at http://eclipse.org/artwork/ aren’t even used that much in the grand scheme of things.

    Hope you enjoyed EclipseCon. One day I’ll attend. Also, I hope I qualify for some Eclipse swag *crosses fingers*.😛

  6. Ian Skerrett says:

    @andrew thanks for the support.

    @lar maybe we will try again another day, another approach.

    @chris yup I learnt a lot this time🙂

    @michel thank you again for your participation. I think you and a few others spent a LOT of time, so I appreciate your positive attitude. I really do like your recommendation of consolidating the designs so we might be able to learn from them in the future. btw, Eclipse swag is coming your way.

  7. Might be an effect of how you asked the question.

    I am not discontent with the current logo.

    On the other hand, an eclipse is a pretty cool real-world event, and the Eclipse logo has fashionably-drifted from the real world. (An eclipse is not a shiny button Mac-like button.)

    You are caught between two somewhat-reasonable choices. On the one hand, not changing the existing Eclipse logo too much (for marketing reason) is a good choice. On the other hand, the relation between the current Eclipse logo and a (very cool) real world eclipse … is scarce.

    Any choice that aims for the space between tends to be a bit lame … which is pretty much where you are now.

  8. […] hier het oorspronkelijke bericht. 0 Reacties Door thijs / 1 april 2010 / gepost in: […]

  9. anonymous says:

    @Preston: If he had not wanted to change the existing logo too much, he shouldn’t have disqualified the 2nd place of the first vote. It was the closest to the original, still resembled the idea if an eclipse, looked more modern and also had the right color scheme. Lesson learned: Take away the community’s favorites and get a dissatisfying result with “leave it like as it is” as favorite (or one of them). I’m completely with you on your last sentence.
    With the first vote disqualification-farce, Ian failed miserably. He should have called for another vote after making his original intent clear without disqualification. If I had to judge this second vote I would pretty much think it was a “middle fingers up” from the community. And rightly so.

  10. […] I wish I could say that I got my jacket by winning an Eclipse contributor’s contest, where I was deemed to be one of the most useful developers. Nope. Instead, I drew the 3rd prettiest picture in a drawing contest! […]

  11. Eponymous says:

    I just started using Eclipse. I think the logo needs work. I did a web search to see what other people thought and I found this page.

