Looking back in time at Eclipse

I have been looking around to find references to Eclipse when it was first launched. There is lots of stuff but here are some of the more interesting things:

What else would you add? Feel free to add a link in the comments section.

5 Responses to Looking back in time at Eclipse

  1. Here is a link to the very first public plan, containing only four milestones between two and four weeks in length:

    http://www.eclipse.org/eclipse/eclipse_project_plan_2_0_rev1221.html

  2. As I am looking into Eclipse history as well at the moment I found the following brief history article. http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/rational/library/nov05/cernosek/index.html

    Thx for putting together those links, good sources for my talk in November.

  3. ianskerrett says:

    John and Philipp

    Thanks for the links. I particularly like the first EclipseCon link. I was looking for something that would show the party at the ThirstyBear but couldn’t find anything substantial. The pictures are great!

    I also understand that there was an Eclipse BOF at OOPSLA 2001. Some people have told me that this was the ‘first’ big public demo of Eclipse. I couldn’t find pictures, so if anyone has them, please post a link or mail them to me.

  4. Happy birthday to Eclipse! You must – and should be very proud! Hip-hip, HURRAY!

