My JavaOne Wish List

Next week I will be attending JavaOne, the first organized by Oracle, and I am really looking forward to it.  The last couple of JavaOne conferences were pretty lame in terms of key Java announcements.  This year will be Oracle’s chance to set the vision for the future of Java.

I have high expectations Oracle will do right for Java.  Oracle is professionally managed company that knows how to make money.  They are going to do things differenly from Sun but that will/can be goodness.  Although, I admit their lawsuit against Google is not a great signal to the community.

Next week, here is what I would like to hear from Oracle.  [Note: FWIW, these are my own views and don't represent any official view of the Eclipse Foundation.]

Stop JavaFX, please. I have never understood JavaFX.  Sun had no hope and so far no momentum for this technology.  Oracle should just politely say it was a bad idea and move on.   Use the resources to provide better technology for Java programmers.  Trust me, no one will miss it.

Announce Java 7 Plans. Java 7 has been this lost puppy with no home for a long time.  Publish the plan and keep to it.  Show the future, lead by example.  My vote would be to announce Plan B next week.

Make Apache Happy.   The long standing issue over the field of use restriction for Apache Harmony’s use of the TCK needs to be resolved.   Resolving this one issue would be a HUGE win with the open source community.

Promote OpenJDK.  There is a lot of great stuff going on in the OpenJDK community.  Captialize on it, tell people about, invest in it, promote the hell out of it.  You also need to fix the governance for it to really thrive.  Establish a community board and governance charter that makes it truly open.  Sun was never really open with OpenJDK but it was still succeeding.  Do better than Sun and make it open and great.

Merge Java ME and Java SE. Java in mobile needs to be re-energized.  Please don’t announce at JavaOne that their are billions of devices using Java ME and all is well.  All is not well.  Bring the two code bases together and make it easier for a wider group of developers to write applications for mobile and enterprise.  Regardless, shake things up for Java ME

That is it.  Solve these points with concrete solutions and Java will be on the path to a great future.

btw, curious to know what else Oracle needs to announce?

8 Responses to My JavaOne Wish List

  1. My guess as to Oracle’s actions:

    JavaFX will die of neglect, rather than any definitive near-term action.

    Java 7 – flip a coin, as “monetizing” Java fits with either plan.

    Apache and OpenJDK will be firmly ignored. There might be some pleasant words, but not backed by any significant action.

    Merging Java ME and SE is a non-starter, as ME is (at present) a revenue source (technical issues aside).

    At least that is my sense of Oracle, at present.

  2. Too bad that your list starts with trolling – you certainly know that JavaOne will open with very opposite announcements in that area, so it’s kind of pointless to “wish” that JavaFX goes away.

    What do you suggest that Oracle invests in place of JavaFX… perhaps SWT? ;-) Swing doesn’t seem a likely answer (from an ESF person) – too good that Google released WindowBuilder gratis, because due to neglect from IBM and the ESF (the dead VE project), Eclipse has abandoned Swing for several years now.

  3. Marcel Offermans says:

    Last year Larry hinted at the possibility of a cloud and web based version of OpenOffice on JavaFX, so I would not be surprised if that is going to be one of the key announcements.

    @Preston, they can easily merge ME with SE already, as Sun already changed the license for the binary JVM so you are only allowed to use it on “general purpose desktops” and “general purpose servers” which will exclude anything embedded, mobile and in the cloud. Think about that in the context of the Google lawsuit, and you get a strong indication that Oracle is very interested in those markets.

    I hope they will announce a stand alone JavaOne conference again next year.

  4. Ian Skerrett says:

    @Osvaldo I have no idea what they will announce at JavaOne. You may think I am trolling about JavaFX but it is just my opinion, one that I have expressed before. As for Swing, lots of people build Swing applications using Eclipse, so I don’t see how you can say it was abandoned. The lack of the VE project probably hurt SWT more than Swing.

    @Marcel The would be very interesting if they did announce OpenOffice on JavaFX. I heard Larry hint last year but I’ve seen nothing to show he was serious. I agree a standalone JavaOne would be nice.

    @Preston I understand you points but I hope you are wrong. Realistically it is probably going to be someplace in between.

  5. @Ian Well, maybe you’re just not paying attention (tweets from JavaFX enthusiasts etc.); or even checking the JavaOne schedule: http://javafx.com/about/overview/j1sessions.jsp. Insiders say that Oracle will make some very important JavaFX annoucements. And “we are cancelling JavaFX” is definitely not one of them ;-) On Swing… I am a user of the commercial IBM RAD product, that combines the open source Eclipse core with a ton of extra proprietary plugins; it’s probably the richer, and also most expensive, Eclipse-family IDE; but it doesn’t have VE or anything similar either (older versions used to have). It’s ridiculous to buy RAD and in top of that, having to buy something like WindowBuilder.

    • I have RAD and it comes with VE, so I’m not sure what you’re talking about.

      • It was dropped in 7.5 (I think that’s the released that moved from Eclipse 3.2 core to 3.3), but I found this technote now: it’s resuscitated in 7.5.2+, but with a different name (JVE), I didn’t notice that thing in the installer (just guessed that “client application” was something related to JavaEE appclients).

        Now the interesting question is: wasn’t IBM supposed to contribute this back to the open source VEP project? or because the EPL doesn’t mandate that (just weak-copyleft), IBM just chose to keep VEP dead for the greater good of commercial vendors?

  6. [...] are often an important barometer for setting the tone of the conference.  As I have done in the past, there are certain things I would like to see Oracle emphasize in the keynotes and certain things [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

